The Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross is a Lenten devotion that offers witness to Jesus’ Passion and Death. At each station we use our senses and our imagination to reflect prayerfully upon Jesus’ suffering, Death, and Resurrection, and to simply experience the visual images to reflect on Christ’s love for us. 

Before each station, pray: We adore You, O Christ, and we bless you. Because by your holy cross, You have redeemed the world. 

After each station, pray (1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary and (1) Glory Be and say: Lord Jesus Crucified, have mercy on us. 

First Station: Jesus Is Condemned to Death. 

Pontius Pilate condemns Jesus to death. 

Second Station: Jesus Takes Up His Cross. 

Jesus willingly accepts and patiently bears his cross. 

Third Station: Jesus Falls the First Time. 

Weakened by torments and by loss of blood, Jesus falls beneath his cross. 

Fourth Station: Jesus Meets His Sorrowful Mother. 

Jesus meets His mother, Mary, who is filled with grief. 

Fifth Station: Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus Carry the Cross. 

Soldiers force Simon of Cyrene to carry the cross. 

Sixth Station: Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus. 

Veronica steps through the crowd to wipe the face of Jesus. 

Seventh Station: Jesus Falls a Second Time. 

Jesus falls beneath the weight of the cross a second time. 

Eighth Station: Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem. 

Jesus tells the women to weep not for him but for themselves and 

for their children. 

Ninth Station: Jesus Falls the Third Time. 

Weakened almost to the point of death, Jesus falls a third time. 

Tenth Station: Jesus is Stripped of His Garments. 

The soldiers strip Jesus of his garments, treating him as a common crimi-nal. 

Eleventh Station: Jesus Is Nailed to the Cross. 

Jesus’ hands and feet are nailed to the cross. 

Twelfth Station: Jesus Dies on the Cross. 

After suffering greatly on the cross, Jesus bows his head and dies. 

Thirteenth Station: Jesus Is Taken Down From the Cross. 

The lifeless body of Jesus is tenderly placed in the arms of Mary, 

His mother. 

Fourteenth Station: Jesus Is Laid in the Tomb. 

Jesus’ disciples place his body in the tomb.